The Turkish German Multimodal Interaction Summit is an event to promote collaboration between the leading scientific institutions of Turkey and Germany in the field of human computer interaction. Organized one day before the 16th ACM International Conference on Multimodal Interaction in Istanbul, this meeting aims to introduce the latest research and projects of the groups to each other, to foster collaboration and networking between the groups, to promote educational and scientific joint activities, and information exchange, particularly vis-a-vis the Horizon 2020 program of the European Union.

Recent research in the following areas will be discussed:

  • Multimodal interaction processing
  • Interactive systems and applications
  • Modeling human communication patterns
  • Data, evaluation and standards for multimodal interactive systems
  • Urban Interactions
  • News


    Event presentations are available under Program.


    There will be a ring shuttle service from the main campus entrance to the Remzi Ülker Conference Hall between 8:30 - 9:00. While exiting the metro station please follow the signs "ITU" to reach the main campus entrance, which will be on your right side.


    Accepted graduate student posters are under Program.


    Updated workshop program is available under Program.


    Tentative workshop program is available under Program.


    The TGMIS workshop will take place at Remzi Ülker Conference Hall of Istanbul Technical University (located within the Earthquake Engineering and Disaster Management Institute). Directions are available under Venue.


    Participation to TGMIS is free of charge. You can register here.


    Dr. Albert Ali Salah
    Bogazici University
    Dr. Hazım Kemal Ekenel
    Istanbul Technical University
    Dr. Björn Schuller
    Technical University of Munich
    Dr. Christian Becker-Asano
    Albert-Ludwig University of Freiburg

    Confirmed Speakers

    Cengiz Acartürk- Middle East Technical University, Turkey
    Kerem Altun - Kemerburgaz University, Turkey
    Elisabeth André - University of Augsburg, Germany
    Bert Arnrich - Bogazici University, Turkey
    Christian Becker-Asano - Freiburg University, Germany
    Çiğdem Eroğlu Erdem - Bahçeşehir University, Turkey
    Özlem Durmaz İncel - Galatasaray University, Turkey
    Stefan Kopp - Bielefeld University, Germany
    Hatice Köse - Istanbul Technical University, Turkey
    Antonio Krüger - University of Saarland, Germany
    Marc Erich Latoschik - University of Würzburg, Germany
    Wolfgang Minker - University of Ulm, Germany
    Erhan Öztop - Özyeğin University, Turkey
    Björn Schuller - Munich University of Technology, Germany
    Tevfik Metin Sezgin - Koç University, Turkey
    Rainer Stiefelhagen - Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany
    Berrin Yanıkoğlu - Sabancı University, Turkey